Daily Detox at Clinique

On Tuesday I had a complimentary mini facial at the Clinique counter in House of Fraser. I’d had a couple of samples from Clinique and the assistant suggested I come back for a Daily Detox so she could suggest a skincare regime that would suit my skin.

It was a really nice experience – the assistant was friendly and knowledgable and, considering I was sitting in the middle of a large beauty hall, it was actually quite relaxing too.

It started with a short questionnaire to find out my skin type and any problems I had. My main issues are dryness, which can often be flakey and red, and sensitivity, both due to eczema, which I’ve had since I was a baby. The routine that she suggested for me was pretty simple and included 5 products (which is just as well as I think this is the maximum I could ever be bothered to use on a morning!!)

She started with the Redness Solutions Cleanser (£18) in combination with the Sonic System Purifying Cleansing Brush (£79). The cleanser was creamy and luxurious, while still feeling very light, which I liked, and the brush was much gentler than I expected – the bristles are so soft! She then used the Redness Solutions Daily Cream (£40) followed by a Pore Refining Serum (£39) for my T-zone. Both of these products are quite pricey and although they both felt good on my skin, I’m not sure I would incorporate these into a daily routine (the assistant did suggest that these may only need to be used once or twice a week instead and I think this would be more feasible were I to actually invest). I also think it’s quite difficult to assess whether these products actually make a difference from only one application. I would like to get a sample to try for a week or so before I would consider buying.

The final two products were my favourites and two which I could actually see myself using. The 4th product in the routine is the new Moisture Surge Concentrate (£34). It felt lovely on my skin, quite watery but in a good way, as it absorbed quickly into my skin and didn’t feel oily or sticky at all. It has a gel texture which is very clean and fresh feeling, perfect for a product to use in your morning routine.

The last product was the All About Eyes Rich serum (£27). I have never used an eye cream before but when I think about it, I have no idea why this is as I often get dryness around my eyes and as they are a very sensitive area, it makes sense to use a product that is specifically designed for this. This eye serum felt a lot creamier than the moisturiser but blended in really nicely on top. Because of my sensitive skin, I do always worry that I may have a reaction to this kind of product but this eye cream has been really good and I saw a noticeable difference on Tuesday and Wednesday in the skin around my eyes.

Overall I was really pleased with the experience and it was nice not to feel pressured into buying the products straight away. The product I am most likely to invest in at the moment is the eye serum. This is because I currently have a moisturiser that I like (the Vitamin E Moisture Cream from The Body Shop) so I don’t need a new one right away and the eye serum is a product which I think it missing from my current skincare.

And finally, the assistant also gave me a 4 week sample of the Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief to try at home. It’s the perfect size for my handbag so I plan to carry it with me and use throughout the day as it is light enough to use over make-up. I’m going to use it over the next couple of weeks and I’ll let you know my verdict.

One thought on “Daily Detox at Clinique

Leave a Reply

