The Ordinary is Anything but Ordinary

I first heard about The Ordinary brand through Lily Pebbles blog and I was pleasantly surprised by the very reasonable price of their products when I looked on their website. I was then excited to find that you can order it on Asos so I promptly ordered the Hyaluronic Acid 2% +B5 formula (£5.70) to see if it would work for me.

Due to my eczema, the main problem I have with my skin is dryness and hyaluronic acid is supposed to work really well for moisturising. It is a substance that is naturally found in your body’s connective tissue and one molecule can hold up to 1000 times it’s own weight in water! Therefore it has unique properties for holding water in your skin, thus helping skin appear plumper and well hydrated. Sounds perfect!


I’ve been using the Hyaluronic Acid formula for about a week and a half now; I use it in the evenings after cleansing and before moisturising. The bottle comes with a little pipette so I tend to put it on a cotton pad rather than directly on my skin.

It feels quite gel-like and only a few drops are needed per application. I’m not sure how effective it would be purely on it’s own, but it certainly helps my moisturiser to absorb much more easily than normal, so in combination, the two products work really well to make my face feel gorgeously smooth and soft.

I was hoping to see a noticeable difference in my eczema (which is often a problem around my lips and eyes) and so far I don’t think I’ve seen any vast improvement. However, I often need to use a product for a more prolonged period to see if it will make an impact on my eczema so I may yet see some results.

I like the packaging of the product – it feels quite clinical, which can sometimes put me off, but in this instance the simplicity is really appealing as it reflects an unfussy brand that tries to produce ethical and effective skin solutions.

I also like the website which is easy to navigate and the product descriptions are great for understanding exactly what is in the individual products. The only thing I think could be improved is for the brand to have a better guide about which products are best for which skin problem. For instance, there are a lot of products for hydration, particularly the oils, so it is quite difficult to know which ones to choose. I understand that it may be best to actual visit the store in Spitalfields, where no doubt a shop assistant would be able to advise me but nonetheless I think a little bit more clarity on the website would be great.

I am definitely considering trying some of their other products and I am excited to have found a new brand to explore.

One thought on “The Ordinary is Anything but Ordinary

Leave a Reply

