Choosing the Right Foundation

Choosing the right foundation can be a such a difficult task that I sort of dread my foundation running out and having to buy a new one! This wouldn’t be the case if I had managed to find the perfect one and then I know I could just re-purchase (how I long to find this elusive product!!) But I don’t think I’ve got there yet.

That’s not to say that I haven’t used some good ones. I am pretty pleased with my latest foundation, which is the Fresh Nude Foundation with SPF 15 by The Body Shop (£15).

The best thing about this foundation is the shade, which is an almost perfect match with my skin. I have the shade Chelsea Porcelain and when I tried it in the store, I just couldn’t not get it. I have pale skin with pink undertones and I often find that the palest shades are more yellow so it was nice to find one that is right for me. It was also refreshing to find this shade easily in store without having to go through the rigmarole of a beauty counter (sometimes I find the asssitants trying to convince me they have got the right shade so I’ll make a purchase even when I can tell that it just isn’t quite right).

I’m also pretty pleased with the texture and consistency of this foundation. As my skin is dry, I definitely need a more creamy and hydrating foundation – I absolutely cannot have anything that dries my skin out even more, otherwise I turn into a horrible, flakey mess! I also like to have a foundation that blends well using just my fingers. I have used brushes and sponges before but I find that it takes me too long to apply foundation using these, so on a day-to-day basis I just use my hands and save the other applicators for special occasions when I want more coverage. This foundation ticks both of these boxes. I make sure that I have applied moisturiser and primer first, otherwise it can be just a tad chalky, but overall I find this foundation really nice to apply.

In terms of coverage, I personally only like light coverage for daily wear and this foundation fits the bill. If I wanted more coverage I think it would be easy to build, but if you’re looking for more full coverage every day then this probably wouldn’t be quite right.

I think the price is very reasonable, especially when I compare it to a couple of more expensive foundations that I have tried and been quite disappointed with. One in particular that springs to mind is the Bobbi Brown Moisture Rich Foundation (£34); the shade match was excellent but I found the application of this product to be really difficult. Firstly there is no pump in the bottle, which makes it very hard to get out (this was just annoying) and secondly, despite being a foundation designed for dry skin, I found that it really did not blend well on mine. It seemed to crease and cake very easily, even when using a minimal amount. I definitely expected better from a premium product!

I’m still on the hunt for my perfect foundation but this one from The Body Shop is a solid 4 out of 5 and I would definitely consider buying again.

2 thoughts on “Choosing the Right Foundation

  1. typicalteenager76 says:

    Ooh I have never even heard of this! Definitely want to try this! Great post, it’d mean a lot if you checked out my blog x

    Like

Leave a Reply

